World Cities Day China Observance / News

Shanghai Award open for application |  Updated:2024-04-12


The United Nations Human Settlements Programme, or UN-Habitat, officially opened applications for the second edition of the Global Award for Sustainable Development in Cities, also known as the Shanghai Award.

Themed "Building a Sustainable Urban Future for All", the 2024 award invites applications from global cities that make significant progress in four key areas in alignment with the Sustainable Development Goal (SDG) 11 — providing quality housing, empowering youth, fostering innovative urban development, and enhancing climate resilience. 

The deadline for applications is June 15, 2024.

Jointly established by UN-Habitat and Shanghai municipal government in 2022, the Shanghai Award aims to recognize cities that have made significant strides in sustainable development. It also provides a vibrant platform for cities to exchange their experience and learn from each other, and help cities to better achieve their development goals. 

The inaugural award ceremony in October last year honored five winning cities: Australia's Brisbane, China's Fuzhou, Malaysia's George Town of Penang, Uganda's Kampala, and Brazil's Salvador

To apply and access all application rules and guidelines (available in the six official UN languages) along with the application form, visit

Copyright 1995 - . All rights reserved. The content (including but not limited to text, photo, multimedia information, etc) published in this site belongs to China Daily Information Co (CDIC). Without written authorization from CDIC, such content shall not be republished or used in any form. Note: Browsers with 1024*768 or higher resolution are suggested for this site.
License for publishing multimedia online 0108263

Registration Number: 130349