King Ping of Zhou relocated the capital eastward to Luoyang in 770 BC, and the dynasty was therefore named the Eastern Zhou Dynasty (770-221 BC). The city where the Zhou kings lived was named as the King City of the Eastern Zhou. Over a period of more than 500 years, starting from King Ping of Zhou, 25 kings of the Eastern Zhou Dynasty took Luoyang as the capital city. During the Eastern Zhou Dynasty, many different regional powers were battling against each other, resulting to in the "disintegration of propriety" (libeng yuehuai). Although the Zhou kings were losing their control over the kingdom, King City remained the most prestigious capital among all capital cities of vassal states. With the downfall of the Eastern Zhou in 256 BC, King City was gradually deserted.