Luoyang temporarily served as the capital in the early Western Han Dynasty (206 BC-AD 25) and later became a strategically important city in the empire's eastern territory. During the short-lived Xin dynasty (9-23), it serves as the eastern capital. At the end of the Xin Dynasty, Liu Xiu launched the fight against the Xin Dynasty's rule and established the Eastern Han dynasty in 25 AD, establishing the capital in Luoyang. The ensuing Wei Kingdom, Western Jin Dynasty and Northern Wei Dynasty also established their capitals in Luoyang. At the end of the Eastern Han Dynasty (25-220), the capital was moved to Xu (present-day Xuchang, Henan). During the Three Kingdoms (220-280) period, the Wei Kingdom dominated the Central Plain and Xuchang was one of its five capitals. Luoyang, Nanyang and Xuchang, either as capitals or emperors' hometowns reflect the eventful history of the Han and Wei periods.